Test driving OpenWRT

Recently I have been looking at tools for managing and monitoring my home network. In my previous post I talked about using a Network Namespace to control the download limit.

Now I wanted to look at more advanced tools for the job. OpenWRT is a Linux based firmware, which supports a lot of networking hardware. I am exploring the possibility of flashing OpenWRT on my backup router at home.

To test OpenWRT I used a KVM image (which can be found here) and started a VM on my desktop. The following diagram shows the network topology.

Slide1

Little tweaking is required for making OpenWRT work with libvirtd. The idea is to push the incoming traffic to OpenWRT and apply traffic monitoring/policy.

Libvirt provides dnsmasq service which listens on bridge virbr0 and provides DHCP ip to the VMs. It also configures NAT rules for traffic going out of the VMs through the virbr0.

  • For this test we will remove the NAT rules on the bridge virbr0. All applications on the desktop will communicate through this bridge to OpenWRT which will route the traffic to the Internet.
  • I also stopped the odhcpd and dnsmasq server running on OpenWRT. Started a dhsclient on the lan interface (br-lan) to request a IP from libvirtd.

Once OpenWRT is booted you can login to the web interface of the router to configure it.

The following figure shows the networking inside OpenWRT router.

Slide2

The routing table on my desktop is as followsScreenshot from 2016-03-06 20:34:41

The routing table on the OpenWRT server is show belowScreenshot from 2016-03-06 20:34:29

OpenWRT allows installation of extra packages to enhance its functionality.I could find packages like quagga, bird etc which will be interesting to explore.

Screenshot from 2016-03-06 17:51:13.png

It provides traffic monitoring and classifications.

Screenshot from 2016-03-06 19:41:27

Openwrt provider firewall configuration using iptables.

Screenshot from 2016-03-06 17:48:57

I will be exploring more of its features before deciding if I will flash it on my backup home router.

Published by

Chandan Dutta Chowdhury

Software Engineer

Leave a Reply

