Rate Limiting ACT broadband on Ubuntu

ISPs have started to provide high bandwidth connections while the FUP (Fair Usage Policy) limit is still not enough (I am using ACT Broadband). Once you decide to be on youtube most of the time the download limit gets exhausted rather quickly.

As I use Ubuntu for my desktop, I decided to use TC to throttle my Internet bandwidth to bring in some control over my Internet bandwidth usage. Have a look at my previous posts about rate limiting and  traffic shaping on Linux to learn about usage of TC.

Here is my modest network setup at home.

Slide1

The problem is that TC can throttle traffic going out on an interface but traffic shaping will not impact the download bandwidth.

The Solution

To get around this problem I introduced a Linux network namespace into the topology. Here is how the topology looks now.

Slide2

I use this script to setup the upload/download bandwidth limit.

Results

Here are readings before and after applying the throttle

Before

media-20160302

After rate-limiting to 1024Kbps upload and download

media-20160302-1.png

Published by

Chandan Dutta Chowdhury

Software Engineer

One thought on “Rate Limiting ACT broadband on Ubuntu”

Leave a Reply

